Free worldwide delivery with every order
Welcome back (Sign out)
Features

10 Best Novels of 2017

December 12, 2017

10 Best Novels of 2017

This has been an outstanding year for fiction. With countless fantastic new releases from established and debut authors, it is difficult to narrow down the best books of the year. However, we've taken on this gargantuan task and now present to you our top 10 novels of 2017, as chosen by our book experts.

Black Teeth and a Brilliant Smile

Black-Teeth-And-A-Brilliant-Smile

This novel tells the story of playwright Andrea Dunbar, featuring real and imagined characters. It is a compelling debut novel that heralds a bright new voice on the literary scene. Black Teeth and a Brilliant Smile was shortlisted for the 2017 Gordon Burn Prize.

Exit West

Exit-West

Bestselling author Mohsin Hamid has done it again. Exit West is a brilliant love story set in a city full of refugees, as the bombs get closer every night, and new laws and public executions come into force. Are the rumours of strange black doors which lead to Western cities true?

The Idiot

The-Idiot

Elif Batuman is the prize-winning author of The Possessed, and her new novel tackles literary ambition, female friendship, the American dream, and romantic love.

The Dry

The-Dry

Who really killed the Hadler family? Luke Hadler is accused of murdering his wife and son before committing suicide, but as Aaron Falk, policeman and childhood best friend, begins to delve deeper, he questions the truth of his friend's crime. Jane Harper's debut is a compulsive, intense and atmospheric novel that spent 5 weeks as the No.1 Australian fiction title.

Sing, Unburied, Sing

Sing-Unburied-Sing

Winner of the US National Book Award for Fiction 2017, Sing, Unburied, Sing examines the ugly truths at the heart of the American story and the power - and limitations - of family bonds.

The Lie of the Land

The-Lie-of-the-Land

From the author of Hearts & Minds and A Vicious Circle, this new novel is about what happens when the metropolitan dream goes sour. Although this is a standalone story, it does feature characters from some of Craig's previous novels.

Devil's Day

Devils-Day

Gripping, eerie, and unsettling, this new novel from the bestselling author of The Loney asks how much we owe to tradition, together with how far we will go to belong.

The Destroyers

The-Destroyers

This darkly vivid literary suspense novel is a mesmerizing drama of power and fate, fathers and sons, self-invention and self-deception.

Marlena

Marlena

Perfect for fans of The Girls by Emma Cline, Marlena is an electric debut novel of love, addiction and loss; the story of two girls and the feral year that will cost one her life, and define the other's for decades.

The Haunting of Henry Twist

The-Haunting-Of-Henry-Twist

The Haunting of Henry Twist is an arresting and beautiful debut novel about how our longing for a soulmate can bring us to perfect happiness or desolation.

For more of the best reads of the year, browse our Top Indie Books of 2017 or our Best Fiction of 2017.

Discover 25 of the best-selling books of all time on our blog.

Share this post

Tags