Free worldwide delivery with every order
Welcome back (Sign out)
  1. Book of the Week: Adventures of a Young Naturalist
Book of the Week

Book of the Week: Adventures of a Young Naturalist

September 27, 2017

Book of the Week: Adventures of a Young Naturalist

Originally written in the 1950s, the stories in this book are of a young David Attenborough and his expeditions for the 1954 television programme Zoo Quest. On these voyages he would search for elusive rare animals for London Zoo’s collection, travelling to Guyana, Indonesia, Paraguay and beyond.

Attenborough and his team would stay with local tribes, trek into the wilderness in search of rare animals such as giant anteaters and Komodo dragons, and deal with aggressive animals and unpredictable weather. They put in a great deal of effort to record the incredible beauty and biodiversity of these regions.

Although the methods recorded in these stories are now outdated, the fascination and respect for the wildlife, people, and environments they are about is definitely still in tact. Now more than ever, the preservation of these wild spaces is hugely important, and this importance is conveyed in Attenborough’s writing even then. Now in a beautiful collector’s edition, his trademark wit and charm make this a marvellous book about the man who made all of us fall in love with the natural world, and who is still inspiring people today.

-----

“Sir David is a wizard of television, and, like Gandalf or Dumbledore, he has a near-magical gift for combining warmth and gravitas . . . the man who, for me, exemplifies the best in British broadcasting” - Louis Theroux

“When I was a young boy I used to love turning on the television and watching David's programmes and really feeling like I was either back out in Africa or I was learning about something magical and almost out of this planet” - Prince William

  • Adventures of a Young Naturalist cover
    Adventures of a Young Naturalist

    THE EARLY ADVENTURES OF A YOUNG DAVID ATTENBOROUGH

    Zoo Quest expeditions in Guyana, Indonesia and Paraguay - the perfect Christmas present for fans of Ranulph Fiennes and Gerald Durrell

    View Book

Share this post

Tags