Free worldwide delivery with every order
Welcome back (Sign out)

European History books

237,045 items
Sort & refine results
  • The Shortest History of Germany by James Hawes
    The Shortest History of Germany (Paperback) James Hawes $10.25 $12.72
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Witch by Ronald Hutton
    The Witch (English, Hardback) Ronald Hutton

    Why have societies all across the world feared witchcraft? This book delves deeply into its context, beliefs, and origins in Europe's history

    $33.66
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • A Force Like No Other by Colin Breen
    A Force Like No Other (Paperback) Colin Breen

    In 1983, Interpol named Northern Ireland the most dangerous place in the world to be a police officer. Now, for the first time, the men and women who policed the Troubles tell their stories in their own words.

    $14.20 $14.99
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Strange Death of Europe by Douglas Murray
    The Strange Death of Europe (English, Hardback) Douglas Murray

    A controversial and devastatingly honest depiction of the demise of Europe

    $23.40 $26.00

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Access to History: France in Revolution 1774-1815 Fifth Edition by Dylan Rees
    Access to History: France in Revolution 1774-1815 Fifth Edition (English, Paperback) Dylan Rees, Duncan Townson

    Give your students the best chance of success with this tried and tested series, combining in-depth analysis, engaging narrative and accessibility. Access to History is the most popular, trusted and wide-ranging series for A-level History students.

    $24.26
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Island on the Edge of the World by Charles Maclean
    Island on the Edge of the World (Paperback) Charles Maclean

    For more than 2000 years the people of St Kilda remained remote from the world. but in the nineteenth century the island was discovered by missionaries, do-gooders and tourists, who brought money, disease and despotism. St Kildan culture gradually disintegrated and in 1930 the few remaining islanders asked to be evacuated.

    $14.14 $15.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Wild Ruins by Dave Hamilton
    Wild Ruins (English, Paperback) Dave Hamilton

    Discover and explore Britain's extraordinary history through its most beautiful lost ruins. From crag-top castles to crumbling houses lost in ancient forest, and ivy-encrusted relics of industry to sacred places long since over-grown.

    $19.28 $24.95

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Hitler's Monsters by Eric Kurlander
    Hitler's Monsters (English, Hardback) Eric Kurlander

    The definitive history of the supernatural in Nazi Germany, exploring the occult ideas, esoteric sciences, and pagan religions touted by the Third Reich in the service of power

    $27.79 $35.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Ordinary Men by Christopher R. Browning
    Ordinary Men (Paperback) Christopher R. Browning

    Takes as its basis the detailed records of one squad from the Nazis' extermination groups and explores in its composition, its actions, and the methods by which it was trained to perform acts of genocide on an industrial scale. This book introduces us to men who killed without hesitation or apparent remorse for years on end.

    $11.57 $22.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Pompeii by Mary Beard
    Pompeii (Paperback) Mary Beard

    'The world's most controversial classicist debunks our movie-style myths about the Roman town with meticulous scholarship and propulsive energy - scrutinising and animated in equal measure' Laura Silverman, Daily Mail

    $12.24 $15.51

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Elizabeth I (Penguin Monarchs) by Helen Castor
    Elizabeth I (Penguin Monarchs) (English, Hardback) Helen Castor

    Part of the Penguin Monarchs series: short, fresh, expert accounts of England's rulers in a collectible format In the popular imagination, as in her portraits, Elizabeth I is the image of monarchical power. The Virgin Queen ruled over a Golden Age: the Spanish Armada was defeated; English explorers reached the ends of the earth; a new Church of England rose from the ashes of past conflict; the...

    $15.63 $21.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman
    The Zookeeper's Wife (Paperback) Diane Ackerman

    A remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Postmistress.

    $11.44 $12.72
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Our Uninvited Guests by Julie Summers
    Our Uninvited Guests (Hardback) Julie Summers

    The brilliant new book from one of the country's foremost social historians celebrating those who lived through the Second World War.

    $19.80 $28.30
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Making Sense of the Troubles by David McKittrick
    Making Sense of the Troubles (Paperback) David McKittrick, David McVea

    The best one-volume history of the Troubles, from the Irish Civil War through the IRA campaign of the 70s onwards to today's historic power-sharing government in Belfast

    $19.56 $33.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Against All Odds by Stephen Wynn
    Against All Odds (English, Hardback) Stephen Wynn

    Using newspaper articles, photographs and his British Army Service Record, Stephen Wynn has formed a clear picture of Walter Tull and his achievements.

    $18.94 $39.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Auschwitz: A Doctor's Eyewitness Account by Miklos Nyiszli
    Auschwitz: A Doctor's Eyewitness Account (English, Paperback) Miklos Nyiszli

    When the Nazis invaded Hungary in 1944, they sent virtually the entire Jewish population to Auschwitz. A Hungarian Jew and a medical doctor, Dr Miklos Nyiszli was spared from death for a grimmer fate: to perform scientific research on his fellow inmates under the supervision of the infamous Angel of Death: Dr Josef Mengele.

    $11.19 $22.75
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Shortest History of Germany by James Hawes
    The Shortest History of Germany (Hardback) James Hawes $14.64 $18.38
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Blood Never Dried by John Newsinger
    The Blood Never Dried (English, Paperback) John Newsinger

    The Blood Never Dried challenges the rising chorus of claims that the British Empire was a kinder, gentler force in the world of imperialism. John Newsinger sets out to uncover this neglected history of repression and resistance. To the boast that 'the sun never set on the British Empire' the Chartist Ernest Jones replied 'and the blood never dried.' This new, updated edition brings the story up...

    $17.09 $22.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Shortest History of Europe by John Hirst
    The Shortest History of Europe (English, Paperback) John Hirst

    A short, entertaining and thought-provoking book, beginning with a rapid historical overview from the ancient Greeks to the present, and then focusing in more detail on what makes Europe unique. Written with clarity and wit, it's an afternoon's worth of reading that will last a lifetime. This updated edition now includes events of the 20th century.

    $10.28 $17.50

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • World War II Vichy French Security Troops by Stephen M. Cullen
    World War II Vichy French Security Troops (English, Paperback) Stephen M. Cullen, Mark Stacey

    A detailed study into the significant but little-known arm of the Axis security machinery in occupied Europe--the Vichy French Security Troops, the collaborators who hunted the Resistance.

    $19.01
    More details
    Ready To Go