Free worldwide delivery with every order
Welcome back (Sign out)

European History books

237,783 items
Sort & refine results
  • The Shortest History of Germany by James Hawes
    The Shortest History of Germany (Paperback) James Hawes $10.30 $12.37
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Astute Class Nuclear Submarine by Jonathan Gates
    Astute Class Nuclear Submarine (English, Hardback) Jonathan Gates

    The Astute-class is the largest, most advanced and most powerful attack submarine ever operated by the Royal Navy, combining world-leading sensors, design and weaponry in a versatile vessel. The submarines are nuclear-propelled and fuelled by a nuclear reactor powerful enough to supply a city the size of Southampton. Its advanced technology means the submarines will never need to be refuelled....

    $26.74 $39.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Pompeii by Mary Beard
    Pompeii (Paperback) Mary Beard

    'The world's most controversial classicist debunks our movie-style myths about the Roman town with meticulous scholarship and propulsive energy - scrutinising and animated in equal measure' Laura Silverman, Daily Mail

    $13.30 $15.51

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Strange Death of Europe by Douglas Murray
    The Strange Death of Europe (English, Hardback) Douglas Murray

    A controversial and devastatingly honest depiction of the demise of Europe

    $23.27 $26.00

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Ordinary Men by Christopher R. Browning
    Ordinary Men (Paperback) Christopher R. Browning

    Takes as its basis the detailed records of one squad from the Nazis' extermination groups and explores in its composition, its actions, and the methods by which it was trained to perform acts of genocide on an industrial scale. This book introduces us to men who killed without hesitation or apparent remorse for years on end.

    $11.14 $22.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Mein Kampf by Adolf Hitler
    Mein Kampf (English, Paperback) Adolf Hitler

    Book Description In 1922, just four years after the war to end all wars, an unknown Austrian then living in Bavaria planned a pamphlet to be called Settling Accounts. In it he intended to attack the ineffectiveness of the dominant political parties in Germany which were opposed to the new National Socialists (Nazis). In November 1923, Adolf Hitler was jailed for the abortive Munich Beer Hall...

    $15.66
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman
    The Zookeeper's Wife (Paperback) Diane Ackerman

    A remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Postmistress.

    $13.68
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The End of the Gallop by Alexei Isaev
    The End of the Gallop (English, Hardback) Alexei Isaev

    Based heavily on inaccessible Soviet records, this book presents a lively account of a pivotal battle on the Eastern Front, heavily illustrated with rare photographs.

    $27.07 $49.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Wild Ruins by Dave Hamilton
    Wild Ruins (English, Paperback) Dave Hamilton

    Discover and explore Britain's extraordinary history through its most beautiful lost ruins. From crag-top castles to crumbling houses lost in ancient forest, and ivy-encrusted relics of industry to sacred places long since over-grown.

    $19.28 $24.95

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Stasiland by Anna Funder
    Stasiland (English, Paperback) Anna Funder

    In 1989, the Berlin Wall fell; shortly afterwards the two Germanies reunited and East Germany ceased to exist. In this book, Anna Funder tells extraordinary tales from the underbelly of the former East Germany, including the story of Miriam, who as a 16-year-old might have started World War III.

    $14.45 $16.41
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Witch by Ronald Hutton
    The Witch (English, Hardback) Ronald Hutton

    Why have societies all across the world feared witchcraft? This book delves deeply into its context, beliefs, and origins in Europe's history

    $31.55
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • First Light by Geoffrey Wellum
    First Light (Paperback) Geoffrey Wellum

    Two months before the outbreak of WWII, 17-year-old Geoffrey Wellum becomes a fighter pilot with the RAF. Desperate to get in the air, he makes it through basic training to become the youngest Spitfire pilot in the prestigious 92 Squadron. Thrust into combat immediately, Wellum finds himself caught up in terrifying dogfights with German Me 109s.

    $11.75 $22.00

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The House of Beaufort by Nathen Amin
    The House of Beaufort (English, Paperback) Nathen Amin

    John of Gaunt's illegitimate line whose role in the Wars of the Roses led to the capture of the crown.

    $11.21 $13.75
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Enemy Coast Ahead Uncensored by Guy Gibson
    Enemy Coast Ahead Uncensored (English, Paperback) Guy Gibson

    First published in 1944, Enemy Coast Ahead combines Gibson's RAF career, including the famous Dambuster raid which he himself led, with the inside story of life in Bomber Command and is still a riveting read for the immediacy and vibrancy of its writing. Now, for the first time in paperback, Crecy Publishing has published Gibson's original manuscript which was archived for almost 60 years. This...

    $18.42
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Pandora'S Box by Jorn Leonhard
    Pandora'S Box (English, Hardback) Jorn Leonhard

    In a monumental history of WWI, Germany's leading historian of the first great 20th-century catastrophe explains the war's origins and course, revealing how profoundly it shaped the world to come. Jorn Leonhard treats the clash of arms with a sure feel for grand strategy, the tactics of arms and attrition, and the grim fate of frontline soldiers.

    $34.50 $39.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Country House Library by Mark Purcell
    The Country House Library (English, Hardback) Mark Purcell

    "Beginning with new evidence that cites the presence of books in Roman villas and concluding with present day vicissitudes of collecting, this ... book presents a ... survey of British and Irish country house libraries"--Amazon.com.

    $44.04 $55.00
    More details
  • Yes to Europe! by Robert Saunders
    Yes to Europe! (English, Hardback) Robert Saunders

    The first modern history of the 1975 European Referendum, ranging across 1970s Britain to assess why voters said 'Yes to Europe'.

    $30.95 $32.99
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Men Will Talk to Me by Siobhra Aiken
    The Men Will Talk to Me (English, Paperback) Siobhra Aiken

    The Men Will Talk to Me is a collection of interviews conducted and recorded by famed Irish republican revolutionary Ernie O'Malley during the 1940s and 1950s. The interviews were carried out with survivors of the four Northern Divisions of the IRA, chief among them Frank Aiken, Peadar O'Donnell, and Paddy McLogan, who offer fascinating insights into Ulster's centrality in the War of Independence...

    $23.12 $35.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Shortest History of Germany by James Hawes
    The Shortest History of Germany (Hardback) James Hawes $13.56 $17.88
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Ancient Britain by Ordnance Survey
    Ancient Britain (Sheet map, folded) Ordnance Survey

    The OS Historical Map series comprises of Ancient Britain and Roman Britain. Each archaeological period is identified using different symbols and colours to show sites from the Stone Age through to the early Middle Ages against a modern map base, double-sided to cover the whole country. The Ancient Britain map and guide is complemented by a timeline that shows British events in relation to wider...

    $9.63
    More details
    Ready To Go