Historical fiction

40,134 items
Sort & refine results
  • A
    A Trail of Fire (English, Paperback) Diana Gabaldon

    Four extraordinary stories featuring characters from the bestselling Outlander series.

    Currently Unavailable More details
  • Ross
    Ross Poldark (Hardback) Winston Graham

    Returning home from grim experiences in the American Revolutionary War, Ross Poldark is reunited with his beloved Cornwall and family. But the joyful homecoming he had anticipated turns sour; his father is dead, his estate derelict, and the girl he loves has become engaged to his cousin. However, his sympathy for the destitute miners and farmers of the district leads him to rescue a half-starved...

    $14.28
    More details
  • The
    The Walworth Beauty (Paperback) Michele Roberts

    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth...

    $21.87
    More details
  • Demelza"/
    Demelza (Hardback) Winston Graham

    Demelza Carne, the impoverished miner's daughter rescued from a fairground rabble, is now Ross Poldark's wife. But events are set to test their marriage and their love ...Demelza's efforts to adapt to the ways of the gentry - and of her husband - bring her confusion and heartache, despite her joy at the birth of their first child. Meanwhile, Ross begins a bitter struggle for the rights of the...

    $14.31
    More details
  • The
    The Leopard (Paperback) Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa

    As the head of the aristocratic family, Don Fabrizio is accustomed to knowing his own place in the world and expects his household to run accordingly. He is aware of the changes which are rapidly making men obsolete but he remains attached to the old ways. But Don Fabrizio will make few accommodations for the modern world.

    $13.47
    More details
  • Stolen
    Stolen Beauty (Paperback) Laurie Lico Albanese

    An exhilarating novel of love, art, war, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.

    $21.42
    More details
  • Lilac Girls (Paperback) Martha Hall Kelly $19.61
    More details
  • Lincoln
    Lincoln in the Bardo (English, CD-Audio) George Saunders

    In his long-awaited first novel, American master George Saunders delivers his most original, transcendent, and moving work yet. Unfolding in a graveyard over the course of a single night, narrated by a dazzling chorus of voices, Lincoln in the Bardo is a literary experience unlike any other—for no one but Saunders could conceive it.February 1862. The Civil War is less than one year old. The...

    $25.75 $35.00
    More details
  • The
    The Ladies of Grace Adieu (Paperback) Susanna Clarke

    Contains stories from the world of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell and is illustrated by Charles Vess. This book includes the characters of a conceited Regency clergyman, an eighteenth-century Jewish doctor and Mary, Queen of Scots, as well as two characters from "Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell: Strange himself and the Raven King".

    $12.96
    More details
  • No
    No Place for a Lady (Paperback) Gill Paul

    Praise for Gill Paul: 'A cleverly crafted novel and an enthralling story... A triumph.' DINAH JEFFERIES 'Gripping, romantic and evocative of its time.' LULU TAYLOR

    $14.73
    More details
  • The
    The Revolution of the Moon (English, Paperback) Andrea Camilleri

    When Eleonora di Mora becomes the Marquees of Castel De Roderigo, her progressive ideas label her a dangerous revolutionary and the Church and conservative city fathers conspire to get rid of her.

    $14.77 $16.00
    More details
  • God
    God of Vengeance (English, Paperback) Giles Kristian

    Norway 785 AD. It began with the betrayal of a lord by a king... King Gorm puts Jarl Harald's family to the sword, but makes one fatal mistake - he fails to kill Harald's youngest son, Sigurd. His kin slain, his village seized and its people taken as slaves, Sigurd wonders if the gods have forsaken him.

    $14.67
    More details
  • The
    The North Water (Paperback) Ian McGuire

    A 19th-century whaling ship sets sail for the Arctic with a killer aboard in this dark, sharp and highly original novel, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2016

    $12.61
    More details
  • Altar
    Altar of Blood (Paperback) Anthony Riches

    The ninth novel in the thrilling Empire sequence leads Centurion Marcus Aquila and the Tungrians to the site of one of Rome's most disastrous defeats.

    $13.88
    More details
  • Bella
    Bella Poldark (English, Paperback) Winston Graham

    The final instalment in the much-loved Poldark saga.

    $11.41 $14.95
    More details
  • Wonders
    Wonders Will Never Cease (Paperback) Robert Irwin

    First novel from Robert Irwin, who has established a world-wide reputation for his books on Arab Culture. Set in 1461 and in one of the bloodiest battle fought on English soil, between the houses of York and Lancaster.

    $14.45
    More details
  • Thunder
    Thunder of the Gods (Paperback) Anthony Riches

    The eighth book in the Empire sequence takes Centurion Marcus Aquila and his Tungrian legion on a dangerous mission to the heart of the Parthian empire.

    $10.90
    More details
  • Written
    Written in My Own Heart's Blood (English, Paperback) Diana Gabaldon

    NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLERIn her now classic novel Outlander, Diana Gabaldon told the story of Claire Randall, an English ex-combat nurse who walks through a stone circle in the Scottish Highlands in 1946, and disappears . . . into 1743. The story unfolded from there in seven bestselling novels, and CNN has called it “a grand adventure written on a canvas that probes the heart, weighs the...

    $13.47
    More details
  • The
    The Shores of Tripoli (English, Hardback) James L. Haley

    The first novel in a brilliant new series by award-winning historian James L. Haley, featuring young midshipman Bliven Putnam as he begins his naval service aboard the U.S.S.Enterprise.It is 1801 and President Thomas Jefferson has assembled a deep-water navy to fight the growing threat of piracy, as American civilians are regularly kidnapped by Islamist brigands and held for ransom, enslaved, or...

    $23.70 $28.00
    More details