Free worldwide delivery with every order
Welcome back (Sign out)

History: Earliest Times To Present Day books

80,752 items
Sort & refine results
  • Cuneiform by Irving Finkel
    Cuneiform (Paperback) Irving Finkel

    An accessible look at the world's oldest writing system, covering it's origins, historical development and demise. With new colour photos.

    $12.60
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Eastern Approaches by Fitzroy Maclean
    Eastern Approaches (Paperback) Fitzroy Maclean

    After adventures in Soviet Russia before the war, Fitztroy Maclean fought with the SAS in North Africa in 1942. This book presents his adventures in the Western Desert and later fighting alongside Tito's partisans in Yugoslavia.

    $16.62 $19.75
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Making Sense of the Troubles by David McKittrick
    Making Sense of the Troubles (Paperback) David McKittrick, David McVea

    The best one-volume history of the Troubles, from the Irish Civil War through the IRA campaign of the 70s onwards to today's historic power-sharing government in Belfast

    $17.78 $33.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Little Princesses by Marion Crawford
    The Little Princesses (Paperback) Marion Crawford

    The touching and ground-breaking account of the Queen and Princess Margaret's childhood by their nanny, with a foreword by former BBC Royal Correspondent Jennie Bond. Perfect for fans of The Crown.

    $13.56
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Laughing Shall I Die by Tom Shippey
    Laughing Shall I Die (English, Hardback) Tom Shippey

    The most exciting book on Vikings for a generation, Laughing Shall I Die presents them for what they were: not peaceful explorers and traders, but bloodthirsty warriors and marauders.

    Currently Unavailable More details
  • The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman
    The Zookeeper's Wife (Paperback) Diane Ackerman

    A remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Postmistress.

    $12.73
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Pompeii by Mary Beard
    Pompeii (Paperback) Mary Beard

    'The world's most controversial classicist debunks our movie-style myths about the Roman town with meticulous scholarship and propulsive energy - scrutinising and animated in equal measure' Laura Silverman, Daily Mail

    $13.40 $15.51

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • In Pursuit of Civility by Keith Thomas
    In Pursuit of Civility (English, Hardback) Keith Thomas

    What did it mean to be `civilized' in Early Modern England? ...

    $32.04 $34.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Freedom at Midnight by Larry Collins
    Freedom at Midnight (Paperback) Larry Collins, Dominique Lapierre

    The electrifying story of India's struggle for independence, told in this classic account (first published in 1975) by two fine journalists who conducted hundreds of interviews with nearly all the surviving participants - from Mountbatten to the assassins of Mahatma Gandhi.

    $17.15 $23.75
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Fall of Carthage by Adrian Goldsworthy
    The Fall of Carthage (English, Paperback) Adrian Goldsworthy

    The greatest conflict of antiquity, the struggle for supremacy between Rome and Carthage.

    $12.38 $14.42

    2 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • OCR Classical Civilisation A Level Components 31 and 34 by Athina Mitropoulos
    OCR Classical Civilisation A Level Components 31 and 34 (Paperback) Athina Mitropoulos, Tim Morrison

    This textbook is endorsed by OCR and supports the specification for A-Level Classical Civilisation (first teaching September 2017). It covers Components 31 and 34 from the 'Beliefs and Ideas' Component Group:...

    $23.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Lord Liverpool by William Anthony Hay
    Lord Liverpool (English, Hardback) William Anthony Hay

    Shaped by eighteenth-century assumptions, Liverpool nonetheless laid the foundations for the nineteenth-century Britain that emerged from the Reform era.

    $66.77 $80.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Barons of the Sea by Steven Ujifusa
    Barons of the Sea (English, Hardback) Steven Ujifusa

    Synopsis coming soon.......

    $28.08 $29.99
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Jambusters by Julie Summers
    Jambusters (Paperback) Julie Summers

    Published to coincide with the release of a major ITV drama series HOME FIRES, inspired by the book

    $11.14 $15.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Imperial Tea Party by Frances Welch
    The Imperial Tea Party (Hardback) Frances Welch

    The British and Russian royal families had just three full meetings before the Romanovs' tragic end in 1918. In The Imperial Tea Party, Frances Welch draws back the curtain on those fraught encounters, which had far-reaching consequences for 20th-century Europe and beyond.

    $14.06 $17.04
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Warsaw 1920 by Adam Zamoyski
    Warsaw 1920 (Paperback) Adam Zamoyski

    The dramatic and little-known story of how, in the summer of 1920, Lenin came within a hair's breadth of shattering the painstakingly constructed Versailles peace settlement and spreading Bolshevism to western Europe.

    $12.11 $15.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • City on Fire by Nick Cooper
    City on Fire (English, Paperback) Nick Cooper

    Hull was the most severely damaged town or city in Britain during the Second World War. This book explains how the city coped.

    $15.18 $17.04
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The House of Beaufort by Nathen Amin
    The House of Beaufort (English, Paperback) Nathen Amin

    John of Gaunt's illegitimate line whose role in the Wars of the Roses led to the capture of the crown.

    $12.47
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Disrupt and Deny by Rory Cormac
    Disrupt and Deny (English, Hardback) Rory Cormac

    The untold story of Britain's covert military and intelligence operations since the end of World War II, and its secret scheming against enemies, as well as friends.

    $29.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Louis XIV, the Real Sun King by Jules Harper
    Louis XIV, the Real Sun King (English, Paperback) Jules Harper, Aurora von Goeth

    Based upon primary research-diaries, first-hand accounts of the times, letters etc. this book offers an amalgamation of many different facts, garnered from a multitude of resources, all in one book.

    $22.23 $24.95

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go