Free worldwide delivery with every order
Welcome back (Sign out)

History: Earliest Times To Present Day books

58,967 items
Sort & refine results
  • The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman
    The Zookeeper's Wife (Paperback) Diane Ackerman

    A remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Postmistress.

    $13.26
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Pompeii by Mary Beard
    Pompeii (Paperback) Mary Beard

    'The world's most controversial classicist debunks our movie-style myths about the Roman town with meticulous scholarship and propulsive energy - scrutinising and animated in equal measure' Laura Silverman, Daily Mail

    $14.55 $15.51

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Imperial Tea Party by Frances Welch
    The Imperial Tea Party (Hardback) Frances Welch

    The British and Russian royal families had just three full meetings before the Romanovs' tragic end in 1918. In The Imperial Tea Party, Frances Welch draws back the curtain on those fraught encounters, which had far-reaching consequences for 20th-century Europe and beyond.

    $16.58
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Gaza by Norman Finkelstein
    Gaza (English, Hardback) Norman Finkelstein

    The Gaza Strip is among the most densely populated places in the world. More than two-thirds of its inhabitants are refugees, and more than half are under eighteen years of age. Since 2004, Israel has launched eight devastating "operations" against Gaza's largely defenseless population. Thousands have perished, and tens of thousands have been left homeless. In the meantime, Israel has subjected...

    $31.92 $34.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • OCR Classical Civilisation A Level Components 31 and 34 by Athina Mitropoulos
    OCR Classical Civilisation A Level Components 31 and 34 (Paperback) Athina Mitropoulos, Tim Morrison

    This textbook is endorsed by OCR and supports the specification for A-Level Classical Civilisation (first teaching September 2017). It covers Components 31 and 34 from the 'Beliefs and Ideas' Component Group:...

    $22.98
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Blood Never Dried by John Newsinger
    The Blood Never Dried (English, Paperback) John Newsinger

    The Blood Never Dried challenges the rising chorus of claims that the British Empire was a kinder, gentler force in the world of imperialism. John Newsinger sets out to uncover this neglected history of repression and resistance. To the boast that 'the sun never set on the British Empire' the Chartist Ernest Jones replied 'and the blood never dried.' This new, updated edition brings the story up...

    $15.78 $22.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Best And The Brightest by David Halberstam
    Best And The Brightest (English, Paperback) David Halberstam

    An account of American power and politics in the 1950s and 1960s highlights the political and military figures who shaped domestic and foreign policy and who orchestrated America's involvement in Vietnam. Reissue.

    $21.34
    More details
  • Cuneiform by Irving Finkel
    Cuneiform (Paperback) Irving Finkel

    An accessible look at the world's oldest writing system, covering it's origins, historical development and demise. With new colour photos.

    $11.35 $13.28
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The House of Beaufort by Nathen Amin
    The House of Beaufort (English, Paperback) Nathen Amin

    John of Gaunt's illegitimate line whose role in the Wars of the Roses led to the capture of the crown.

    $13.91
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • People Like Us by Caroline Slocock
    People Like Us (English, Hardback) Caroline Slocock

    A remarkable political and personal memoir that reflects on what women need to do, and sacrifice, to reach positions of power.

    $23.88 $29.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Pandora'S Box by Jorn Leonhard
    Pandora'S Box (English, Hardback) Jorn Leonhard

    In a monumental history of WWI, Germany's leading historian of the first great 20th-century catastrophe explains the war's origins and course, revealing how profoundly it shaped the world to come. Jorn Leonhard treats the clash of arms with a sure feel for grand strategy, the tactics of arms and attrition, and the grim fate of frontline soldiers.

    $36.93 $39.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Outremer: Faith and Blood by Jamie Gordon
    Outremer: Faith and Blood (English, Paperback) Jamie Gordon, Mark Stacey

    Outremer: Faith and Blood is a 28mm skirmish wargame featuring small groups of warriors fighting in Outremer during the Crusades. While suitable for one-off skirmish encounters the focus of the game is a structured and progressive campaign setting in which they are able to watch their force grow and develop over a series of scenarios and encounters from a small party of five or so soldiers into a...

    $20.43
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Warsaw 1920 by Adam Zamoyski
    Warsaw 1920 (Paperback) Adam Zamoyski

    The dramatic and little-known story of how, in the summer of 1920, Lenin came within a hair's breadth of shattering the painstakingly constructed Versailles peace settlement and spreading Bolshevism to western Europe.

    $12.71 $15.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Napoleon the Great by Andrew Roberts
    Napoleon the Great (English, Paperback) Andrew Roberts

    Presents the biography of Napoleon who lived one of the extraordinary of all human lives. This book shows how after seizing power in a coup d'etat he ended the corruption and incompetence into which the Revolution had descended.

    $19.03
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • A Higher Call by Adam Makos
    A Higher Call (Paperback) Adam Makos

    This instant Sunday Times bestseller tells the story of two fighter pilots, an American and a German, whose remarkable encounter during the Second World War became the stuff of legend

    $14.42

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Imphal 1944 by Hemant Singh Katoch
    Imphal 1944 (English, Paperback) Hemant Singh Katoch, Peter Dennis

    A highly illustrated account of the decisive battle of Imphal during World War II, where the attempted Japanese invasion of India was turned back in its largest land defeat of the war so far.

    $23.98
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • A Force Like No Other by Colin Breen
    A Force Like No Other (Paperback) Colin Breen

    In 1983, Interpol named Northern Ireland the most dangerous place in the world to be a police officer. Now, for the first time, the men and women who policed the Troubles tell their stories in their own words.

    $13.48 $14.99
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • My Revision Notes: Edexcel AS/A-level History: In search of the American Dream: the USA, c1917-96 by Alan Farmer
    My Revision Notes: Edexcel AS/A-level History: In search of the American Dream: the USA, c1917-96 (Paperback) Alan Farmer

    Target success in Edexcel AS/A-level History with this proven formula for effective, structured revision; key content coverage is combined with exam preparation activities and exam-style questions to create a revision guide that students can rely on to review, strengthen and test their knowledge....

    $17.64
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Perfect King by Ian Mortimer
    The Perfect King (Paperback) Ian Mortimer

    From the bestselling author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England, comes the story of King Edward III, who - like Elizabeth and Victoria after him - embodied the values of his age, forged a nation out of war and re-made England.

    $16.22
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Eastern Approaches by Fitzroy Maclean
    Eastern Approaches (Paperback) Fitzroy Maclean

    After adventures in Soviet Russia before the war, Fitztroy Maclean fought with the SAS in North Africa in 1942. This book presents his adventures in the Western Desert and later fighting alongside Tito's partisans in Yugoslavia.

    $15.63 $19.75
    More details
    Ready To Go