Free worldwide delivery with every order
Welcome back (Sign out)

History: Earliest Times To Present Day books

76,494 items
Sort & refine results
  • The Club by Leo Damrosch
    The Club (English, Hardback)

    Prize-winning biographer Leo Damrosch tells the story of "the Club," a group of extraordinary writers, artists, and thinkers who gathered weekly at a London tavern

    $20.06 $30.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Making Sense of the Troubles by David McKittrick
    Making Sense of the Troubles (English, Paperback)

    The best one-volume history of the Troubles, from the Irish Civil War through the IRA campaign of the 70s onwards to today's historic power-sharing government in Belfast

    $15.84 $33.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Cuneiform by Irving Finkel
    Cuneiform (English, Paperback)

    An accessible look at the world's oldest writing system, covering it's origins, historical development and demise. With new colour photos.

    $10.81 $13.10
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Hidden History by Gerry Docherty
    Hidden History (English, Hardback)

    Hidden History uniquely exposes those responsible for the First World War. It reveals how accounts of the war's origins have been deliberately falsified to conceal the guilt of the secret cabal of very rich and powerful men in London responsible for the most heinous crime perpetrated on humanity.

    $22.65 $26.22
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Eastern Approaches by Fitzroy Maclean
    Eastern Approaches (English, Paperback)

    After adventures in Soviet Russia before the war, Fitztroy Maclean fought with the SAS in North Africa in 1942. This book presents his adventures in the Western Desert and later fighting alongside Tito's partisans in Yugoslavia.

    $12.77 $19.75
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Amritsar 1919 by Kim Wagner
    Amritsar 1919 (English, Hardback)

    A powerful reassessment of a seminal moment in the history of India and the British Empire--the Amritsar Massacre--to mark its 100th anniversary

    $23.14 $32.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman
    The Zookeeper's Wife (English, Paperback)

    A remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Postmistress.

    $12.92
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Shortest History of Europe by John Hirst
    The Shortest History of Europe (English, Paperback)

    A short, entertaining and thought-provoking book, beginning with a rapid historical overview from the ancient Greeks to the present, and then focusing in more detail on what makes Europe unique. Written with clarity and wit, it's an afternoon's worth of reading that will last a lifetime. This updated edition now includes events of the 20th century.

    $9.28 $17.50

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Last Days in Old Europe by Richard Bassett
    Last Days in Old Europe (English, Hardback)

    Part memoir, part reflection, this book brings to life central Europe during the last ten years of the Cold War. It begins in Trieste in 1979 where the embers of the Habsburg Empire still burnt brightly, and then moves to the darker, claustrophobic world of Vienna in 1985. It recreates the farce and tragedy of the last days of communism.

    $18.18 $22.28
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Matilda by Catherine Hanley
    Matilda (English, Hardback)

    A life of Matilda--empress, skilled military leader, and one of the greatest figures of the English Middle Ages

    $24.28 $30.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Warsaw 1920 by Adam Zamoyski
    Warsaw 1920 (English, Paperback)

    The dramatic and little-known story of how, in the summer of 1920, Lenin came within a hair's breadth of shattering the painstakingly constructed Versailles peace settlement and spreading Bolshevism to western Europe.

    $10.09 $15.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Rome by Amanda Claridge
    Rome (English, Paperback)

    The ultimate guide to all the important archaeological sites in the city of Rome from the period 800 BC to AD 600, with over 200 site maps, plans, and photographs

    $22.00 $34.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Roman Revolution by Ronald Syme
    The Roman Revolution (English, Paperback)

    The transformation of state and society, the violent transference of power and property, and the establishment of Augustus' rule and that of the Empire are presented in a narrative which quotes from ancient evidence, refers seldomly to modern authorities, and states controversial opinions openly.

    $16.60 $29.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Pagan Britain by Ronald Hutton
    Pagan Britain (English, Paperback)

    Britain's pagan past, with its mysterious monuments, atmospheric sites, enigmatic artifacts, bloodthirsty legends, and cryptic inscriptions, is both enthralling and perplexing to a resident of the twenty-first century. In this ambitious and thoroughly up-to-date book, Ronald Hutton reveals the long development, rapid suppression, and enduring cultural significance of paganism, from the Paleolithic...

    $17.22 $35.00

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Master and His Emissary by Iain McGilchrist
    The Master and His Emissary (English, Paperback)

    "First published in paperback 2010"--Title page verso.

    $17.99 $20.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Thomas Cranmer by Diarmaid MacCulloch
    Thomas Cranmer (English, Paperback)

    Thomas Cranmer, the architect of the Anglican Book of Common Prayer, was the archbishop of Canterbury who guided England through the early Reformation?and Henry VIII through the minefields of divorce. This is the first major biography of him for more than three decades, and the first for a century to exploit rich new manuscript sources in Britain and elsewhere....

    $25.49 $35.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Great Illyrian Revolt by Jason R. Abdale
    The Great Illyrian Revolt (English, Hardback)

    First full-length study of this neglected ancient war. This was one of the largest wars of the early Roman Empire, with fifteen legions involved over three years.

    $22.97 $34.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Queen Anne by Anne Somerset
    Queen Anne (English, Paperback)

    Her personal life riven by passion, illness and intrigue, Queen Anne presided over some of the most momentous events in British history. Like Antonia Fraser's life of Marie Antoinette or Amanda Foreman's `The Duchess', `Queen Anne' is historical biography at its best.

    $17.72 $24.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Warrior Queen by Joanna Arman
    The Warrior Queen (English, Paperback)

    The remarkable story of Myrcna hlaefdige, the Lady of the Mercians - Alfred the Great's daughter and the only female ruler of a kingdom in Anglo-Saxon history.

    $12.17 $13.10
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Anglo-Saxon Kingdoms by Claire Breay
    Anglo-Saxon Kingdoms (English, Paperback)

    This richly illustrated new book - which accompanies a landmark British Library exhibition - presents Anglo-Saxon England as the home of a highly sophisticated artistic and political culture, deeply connected with its continental neighbours.

    $26.93 $37.95
    More details
    Ready To Go