Modern fiction (post c 1945)

359,140 items
Sort & refine results
  • Wonder"/
    Wonder (English, Paperback) R. J. Palacio

    Ten-year-old August Pullman wants to be ordinary. He does ordinary things. He eats ice-cream. He plays on his Xbox. He feels ordinary - inside. But Auggie is far from ordinary. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, he has been home-schooled by his parents his entire life, in an attempt to protect him from the cruelty of the outside world.

    $13.27
    More details
  • Silence"/
    Silence (Hardback) Shusaku Endo

    A special edition hardback of Shusaku Endo's classic novel set in feudal Japan. This edition is jacketed to tie-in with the release of the Martin Scorsese movie adaptation of Silence, starring Andrew Garfield and Liam Neeson, which is out in cinemas in 2017.

    $18.78
    More details
  • The
    The Foster (Paperback) Claire Keegan

    A small girl is sent to live with foster parents on a farm in rural Ireland, without knowing when she will return home. In the strangers' house, she finds a warmth and affection she has not known before and slowly begins to blossom in their care. And then a secret is revealed and suddenly, she realizes how fragile her idyll is.

    $10.94
    More details
  • Nineteen
    Nineteen Eighty-four (English, Paperback) George Orwell

    Hidden away in the Record Department of the Ministry of Truth, Winston Smith rewrites the past to suit the needs of the Party. Yet he inwardly rebels against the totalitarian world he lives in, which demands absolute obedience and controls him through the all-seeing telescreens and the watchful eye of Big Brother, symbolic head of the Party.

    $17.36 $21.00

    5 stars

    More details
  • Of
    Of Mice and Men (English, Paperback) John Steinbeck

    Drifters in search of work, George and his childlike friend Lennie, have nothing in the world except the clothes on their back - and a dream that one day they will have some land of their own. Eventually they find work on a ranch in California's Salinas Valley, but their hopes are dashed as Lennie - struggling against extreme cruelty, and more.

    $11.96
    More details
  • Kneller's
    Kneller's Happy Campers (Paperback) Etgar Keret

    When Mordy, our hero, discovers that his girlfriend from his life before has also 'offed' herself, he sets out to find her, and so follows a strange adventure...

    $10.82
    More details
  • The
    The Perks of Being a Wallflower (English, Paperback) Stephen Chbosky

    A powerful and perceptive coming-of-age story, in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye, from a talented young filmmaker, screenwriter and novelist.

    $11.51

    5 stars

    More details
  • And
    And the Ass Saw the Angel (Paperback) Nick Cave

    Outcast, mute, a lone twin cut from a drunk mother in a shack full of junk, Euchrid Eucrow of Ukulore inhabits a nightmarish Southern valley of preachers and prophets, incest and ignorance. When the God-fearing folk of the town declare a foundling child to be chosen by the Almighty, Euchrid is disturbed.

    $13.49
    More details
  • In
    In Watermelon Sugar (Paperback) Richard Brautigan, The Estate of Richard Brautigan

    iDEATH is a place where the sun shines a different colour every day and where people travel to the length of their dreams. Rejecting the violence and hate of the old gang at the Forgotten Works, they lead gentle lives in watermelon sugar. In this book, Richard Brautigan discovers and expresses the mood of the counterculture generation.

    $13.22 $17.75
    More details
  • The
    The Dot (Paperback) Peter H. Reynolds

    One little dot marks the beginning of Vashti's journey of surprise and self-discovery in Peter H. Reynolds' multiple award-winning modern classic.

    $11.07
    More details
  • Orwell
    Orwell George : Nineteen Eighty-Four (Sc) (English, Paperback) George Orwell

    Written in 1948, 1984 was George Orwell’s chilling prophecy about the future. And while 1984 has come and gone, his dystopian vision of a government that will do anything to control the narrative is timelier than ever...“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command.”Winston Smith toes the Party line, rewriting history...

    $10.97

    5 stars

    More details
  • Capturing
    Capturing Angels (Paperback) Virginia Andrews

    From the best-selling author ofFlowers in the Atticcomes a thrilling new novel

    $11.70 $13.00
    More details
  • The
    The Door (Paperback) Magda Szabo

    A young writer, struggling for success, employs an elderly woman called Emerence to be her housekeeper. From their first encounter it is clear that Emerence is no ordinary maid. This work evokes the development of the bond between these two very different women, and the tragic ending to their relationship.

    $13.56
    More details
  • The
    The Fault in Our Stars (English, Paperback) John Green

    Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.

    $7.77 $18.00

    5 stars

    More details
  • The
    The Horse Dancer (English, Paperback) Jojo Moyes

    A gorgeous novel of love, friendship, and a horse named Boo, from bestselling and RNA prize-winning author Jojo Moyes.

    $12.86
    More details
  • My
    My Brilliant Friend (English, Paperback) Elena Ferrante

    A modern masterpiece from one of Italy’s most acclaimed authors, My Brilliant Friend is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted story about two friends, Elena and Lila. Ferrante’s inimitable style lends itself perfectly to a meticulous portrait of these two women that is also the story of a nation and a touching meditation on the nature of friendship. The story begins in the 1950s, in a poor but vibrant neighborhood on the outskirts of Naples. Growing up on these tough streets the two girls learn to rely on each other ahead of anyone or anything else. As they grow, as their paths repeatedly diverge and converge, Elena and Lila remain best friends whose respective destinies are reflected and refracted in the other. They are likewise the embodiments of a nation undergoing momentous change. Through the lives of these two women, Ferrante tells the story of a neighborhood, a city, and a country as it is transformed in ways that, in turn, also transform the relationship between her protagonists, the unforgettable Elena and Lila. Ferrante is the author of three previous works of critically acclaimed fiction: The Days of Abandonment, Troubling Love, and The Lost Daughter. With this novel, the first in a trilogy, she proves herself to be one of Italy’s great storytellers. She has given her readers a masterfully plotted page-turner, abundant and generous in its narrative details and characterizations, that is also a stylish work of literary fiction destined to delight her many fans and win new readers to her fiction.

    $17.18

    4 stars

    More details
  • The
    The Walworth Beauty (Paperback) Michele Roberts

    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth...

    $20.36
    More details
  • The
    The Atrocity Exhibition: Annotated (Paperback) J. G. Ballard

    A prophetic and experimental masterpiece by J. G. Ballard, the acclaimed author of 'Crash' and 'Super-Cannes'. This edition includes explanatory notes from the author.

    $12.18 $17.75
    More details
  • The
    The Catcher in the Rye (English, Paperback) J. D. Salinger

    Holden Caulfield is a dropout who has just been kicked out of his fourth school. Navigating his way through challenges of growing up, Holden dissects the 'phony' aspects of society, and the 'phonies' themselves: the headmaster whose affability depends on the wealth of the parents, his roommate who scores with girls using sickly-sweet affection.

    $12.70 $19.75
    More details
  • Pond"/
    Pond (Paperback) Claire-Louise Bennett

    Feverish and forthright, Pond is an absorbing chronicle of the pitfalls and pleasures of a solitudinous life told by an unnamed woman living on the cusp of a coastal town. Claire-Louise Bennett's startlingly original debut collection slips effortlessly between worlds and is by turns darkly funny and deeply moving.

    $15.50
    More details