Regional and National History books

231,864 items
Sort & refine results
  • Making Sense of the Troubles by David McKittrick
    Making Sense of the Troubles (English, Paperback) David McKittrick, David McVea

    The best one-volume history of the Troubles, from the Irish Civil War through the IRA campaign of the 70s onwards to today's historic power-sharing government in Belfast

    $16.48 $33.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Soldier Who Came Back by Steve Foster
    The Soldier Who Came Back (English, Paperback) Steve Foster, Alan Clark

    In Northern Poland in 1940, at the Nazi war camp Stalag XX-A, two men struck up an unlikely friendship that was to lead to one of the most daring and remarkable wartime escape stories ever told.

    $11.38 $15.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Little Princesses by Marion Crawford
    The Little Princesses (English, Paperback) Marion Crawford

    The touching and ground-breaking account of the Queen and Princess Margaret's childhood by their nanny, with a foreword by former BBC Royal Correspondent Jennie Bond. Perfect for fans of The Crown.

    $13.43
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • A History Of Scotland by Neil Oliver
    A History Of Scotland (English, Paperback) Neil Oliver

    'The beauty of Scotland is overwhelming and I've often thought that Scotland's popular history is just like her landscape - impossibly romantic, obscured by mist and myth and always changing.' The dramatic story of Scotland - by charismatic television historian, Neil Oliver.

    $15.79
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Cuneiform by Irving Finkel
    Cuneiform (English, Paperback) Irving Finkel

    An accessible look at the world's oldest writing system, covering it's origins, historical development and demise. With new colour photos.

    $11.46 $12.76
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Oscar by Matthew Sturgis
    Oscar (English, Hardback) Matthew Sturgis

    The first major biography of Oscar Wilde in thirty years is the most complete telling of his life and times to date.

    $31.90
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Wild Ruins by Dave Hamilton
    Wild Ruins (English, Paperback) Dave Hamilton

    Discover and explore Britain's extraordinary history through its most beautiful lost ruins. From crag-top castles to crumbling houses lost in ancient forest, and ivy-encrusted relics of industry to sacred places long since over-grown.

    $19.29 $24.95

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Jambusters by Julie Summers
    Jambusters (English, Paperback) Julie Summers

    Published to coincide with the release of a major ITV drama series HOME FIRES, inspired by the book

    $10.68 $15.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman
    The Zookeeper's Wife (English, Paperback) Diane Ackerman

    A remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Postmistress.

    $14.25
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • A Line in the Sand by James Barr
    A Line in the Sand (English, Paperback) James Barr

    The untold story of how British-French rivalry drew the battle-lines of the modern Middle East

    $11.36 $15.50
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Soul of America by Jon Meacham
    The Soul of America (English, Hardback) Jon Meacham

    Shows readers moments throughout the nation's history, including the Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Civil Rights movements, to guide them in understanding American politics today.

    $27.69 $30.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Reporting the Troubles by Deric Henderson
    Reporting the Troubles (English, Paperback) Deric Henderson

    Published to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the outbreak of the Troubles, this book brings together stories from more than sixty journalists who were on the ground in Northern Ireland. Contributions from Kate Adie, Martin Bell, Nicholas Witchell, John Irvine, Denis Murray, David McKittrick, Gloria Hunniford, and others.

    $17.47 $19.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Shortest History of Germany by James Hawes
    The Shortest History of Germany (English, Paperback) James Hawes $10.86 $11.48
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • First Light by Geoffrey Wellum
    First Light (English, Paperback) Geoffrey Wellum

    Two months before the outbreak of WWII, 17-year-old Geoffrey Wellum becomes a fighter pilot with the RAF. Desperate to get in the air, he makes it through basic training to become the youngest Spitfire pilot in the prestigious 92 Squadron. Thrust into combat immediately, Wellum finds himself caught up in terrifying dogfights with German Me 109s.

    $11.77 $22.00

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • A History of America in 100 Maps by Susan Schulten
    A History of America in 100 Maps (English, Hardback) Susan Schulten

    In this richly visual narrative, acclaimed historian Susan Schulten explores five centuries of American history through maps. From the voyages of European discovery to the digital age, she reveals the many ways that maps have shaped history.

    $39.15
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Anglo-Saxon Kingdoms by Claire Breay
    Anglo-Saxon Kingdoms (English, Paperback) Claire Breay

    This richly illustrated new book - which accompanies a landmark British Library exhibition - presents Anglo-Saxon England as the home of a highly sophisticated artistic and political culture, deeply connected with its continental neighbours.

    $35.85 $37.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Stasiland by Anna Funder
    Stasiland (English, Paperback) Anna Funder

    A stylish reissue of the bestselling contemporary classic, winner of the 2004 Samuel Johnson Prize.

    $13.41 $16.41
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Lords of the Desert by James Barr
    Lords of the Desert (English, Hardback) James Barr

    Between 1945 and 1970, America replaced Britain as the dominant power in the Middle East in an extraordinary role reversal. Lords of the Desert tells this story.

    $23.00 $25.55
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Shortest History of Europe by John Hirst
    The Shortest History of Europe (English, Paperback) John Hirst

    A short, entertaining and thought-provoking book, beginning with a rapid historical overview from the ancient Greeks to the present, and then focusing in more detail on what makes Europe unique. Written with clarity and wit, it's an afternoon's worth of reading that will last a lifetime. This updated edition now includes events of the 20th century.

    $11.68 $17.50

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • A People's History of Silicon Valley by Keith A. Spencer
    A People's History of Silicon Valley (English, Paperback) Keith A. Spencer

    Literary Nonfiction. A PEOPLE'S HISTORY OF SILICON VALLEY follows the history of the people exploited, displaced, and made obsolete by the tech industry, from the colonization of the Bay Area to the present day. From the first Macintosh to the rise of social media, A PEOPLE'S HISTORY OF SILICON VALLEY peels back the curtain on an industry that brands itself as visionary yet which may be chipping...

    $15.41
    More details
    Ready To Go