Free worldwide delivery with every order
Welcome back (Sign out)

Regional and National History books

239,859 items
Sort & refine results
  • First Light by Geoffrey Wellum
    First Light (Paperback) Geoffrey Wellum

    Two months before the outbreak of WWII, 17-year-old Geoffrey Wellum becomes a fighter pilot with the RAF. Desperate to get in the air, he makes it through basic training to become the youngest Spitfire pilot in the prestigious 92 Squadron. Thrust into combat immediately, Wellum finds himself caught up in terrifying dogfights with German Me 109s.

    $12.58 $22.00

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Strange Death of Europe by Douglas Murray
    The Strange Death of Europe (Paperback) Douglas Murray

    The Sunday Times number one bestseller...

    $13.69
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Cuneiform by Irving Finkel
    Cuneiform (Paperback) Irving Finkel

    An accessible look at the world's oldest writing system, covering it's origins, historical development and demise. With new colour photos.

    $12.60
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Making Sense of the Troubles by David McKittrick
    Making Sense of the Troubles (Paperback) David McKittrick, David McVea

    The best one-volume history of the Troubles, from the Irish Civil War through the IRA campaign of the 70s onwards to today's historic power-sharing government in Belfast

    $17.78 $33.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Posh Boys by Robert Verkaik
    Posh Boys (English, Hardback) Robert Verkaik

    Some people earn success. Others buy it.

    $25.62
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Queen's Marriage by Lady Colin Campbell
    The Queen's Marriage (Hardback) Lady Colin Campbell

    The inside story of The Queen's Marriage from renowned royal author Lady Colin Campbell contains previously undisclosed revelations.

    $30.35 $32.80
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Shortest History of Germany by James Hawes
    The Shortest History of Germany (Paperback) James Hawes $13.12
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Little Princesses by Marion Crawford
    The Little Princesses (Paperback) Marion Crawford

    The touching and ground-breaking account of the Queen and Princess Margaret's childhood by their nanny, with a foreword by former BBC Royal Correspondent Jennie Bond. Perfect for fans of The Crown.

    $13.56
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Laughing Shall I Die by Tom Shippey
    Laughing Shall I Die (English, Hardback) Tom Shippey

    The most exciting book on Vikings for a generation, Laughing Shall I Die presents them for what they were: not peaceful explorers and traders, but bloodthirsty warriors and marauders.

    Currently Unavailable More details
  • The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman
    The Zookeeper's Wife (Paperback) Diane Ackerman

    A remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Postmistress.

    $12.73
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Pompeii by Mary Beard
    Pompeii (Paperback) Mary Beard

    'The world's most controversial classicist debunks our movie-style myths about the Roman town with meticulous scholarship and propulsive energy - scrutinising and animated in equal measure' Laura Silverman, Daily Mail

    $13.40 $15.51

    5 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Ordinary Men by Christopher R. Browning
    Ordinary Men (Paperback) Christopher R. Browning

    Takes as its basis the detailed records of one squad from the Nazis' extermination groups and explores in its composition, its actions, and the methods by which it was trained to perform acts of genocide on an industrial scale. This book introduces us to men who killed without hesitation or apparent remorse for years on end.

    $13.78 $22.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • In Pursuit of Civility by Keith Thomas
    In Pursuit of Civility (English, Hardback) Keith Thomas

    What did it mean to be `civilized' in Early Modern England? ...

    $32.04 $34.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Freedom at Midnight by Larry Collins
    Freedom at Midnight (Paperback) Larry Collins, Dominique Lapierre

    The electrifying story of India's struggle for independence, told in this classic account (first published in 1975) by two fine journalists who conducted hundreds of interviews with nearly all the surviving participants - from Mountbatten to the assassins of Mahatma Gandhi.

    $17.15 $23.75
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Witch by Ronald Hutton
    The Witch (English, Hardback) Ronald Hutton

    Why have societies all across the world feared witchcraft? This book delves deeply into its context, beliefs, and origins in Europe's history

    $31.46
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Fall of Carthage by Adrian Goldsworthy
    The Fall of Carthage (English, Paperback) Adrian Goldsworthy

    The greatest conflict of antiquity, the struggle for supremacy between Rome and Carthage.

    $12.38 $14.42

    2 stars

    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Rise and Kill First by Ronen Bergman
    Rise and Kill First (English, Hardback) Ronen Bergman

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? The first definitive history of the Mossad, Shin Bet, and the IDF's targeted killing programs, hailed by The New York Times as "an exceptional work, a humane book about an incendiary subject."...

    $31.71 $35.00
    More details
  • The Adoption Machine by Paul Jude Redmond
    The Adoption Machine (English, Paperback) Paul Jude Redmond

    May 2014, the Irish public woke to the horrific discovery of a mass grave containing the remains of almost 800 babies in the 'Angels' Plot' of Tuam's Mother and Baby Home. What followed would rock the last vestiges of Catholic Ireland, enrage an increasingly secularised nation, and lead to a Commission of Inquiry. In The Adoption Machine, Paul Jude Redmond, Chairperson of the Coalition of Mother...

    $44.21
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Lord Liverpool by William Anthony Hay
    Lord Liverpool (English, Hardback) William Anthony Hay

    Shaped by eighteenth-century assumptions, Liverpool nonetheless laid the foundations for the nineteenth-century Britain that emerged from the Reform era.

    $66.77 $80.00
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Soldier Who Came Back by Steve Foster
    The Soldier Who Came Back (Hardback) Steve Foster, Alan Clark

    In Northern Poland in 1940, at the Nazi war camp Stalag XX-A, two men struck up an unlikely friendship that was to lead to one of the most daring and remarkable wartime escape stories ever told.

    $19.15 $22.29
    More details
    Ready To Go