Christmas Inspiration

Showing results by Robert L O'Connell

11 items
Sort & refine results
  • The Ghosts of Cannae
    The Ghosts of Cannae (English, Paperback) Senior Analyst Robert L O'Connell

    NATIONAL BESTSELLER...

    $17.96
    More details
  • Ride of the Second Horseman
    Ride of the Second Horseman (English, Paperback) Robert L. O'Connell

    Intelligence analyst Robert L. O'Connell probes the distant human past to show how and why war arose, concluding that it is an invention--an institution that formed due to very specific historical circumstances. Fascinating and provocative, RIDE OF THE SECOND HORSEMAN offers a far-reaching tour of human history that suggests the ages-old cycles of war may be ending.

    $29.44 $39.99
    More details
  • Sacred Vessels
    Sacred Vessels (English, Paperback) Robert L. O'Connell

    With provocative insight and wit, this myth-shattering book offers an irreverent history of the modern battleship and its place in American history, from the sinking of the coal-fueled Maine in 1898 to the deployment of the cruise missile-armed Missouri in the Persian Gulf War of 1991. "Breezy, iconoclastic, and readable".--The Observer. Halftone illustrations.

    $27.00 $39.99
    More details
  • Of Arms and Men
    Of Arms and Men (English, Paperback) Robert L. O'Connell

    Examines the role and significance of weapons from the dawn of human history to the present, and the attempts of Western civilization to come to terms with the grim results. The study attempts to integrate the evolution of human society with the development of weapons and military strategies.

    $28.52 $44.99
    More details
  • Fierce Patriot
    Fierce Patriot (English, Paperback) Robert L. O'Connell

    A bold and revisionist new biography of one of history's most iconic and fascinating figures--General William Tecumseh Sherman--a man who played a critical yet overlooked role in the forming of our national boundaries and who proved the embodiment of a newly-emerging American character, by the author of the national bestseller The Ghosts of Cannae.

    $17.91
    More details
  • Of Arms and Men
    Of Arms and Men (English, Hardback) Robert L. O'Connell

    A provocative examination of the role and significance of weapons from the dawn of human history to the present, and the attempts of Western civilization to come to terms with the grim results of its own inventiveness. Not simply a history of the technology of weapons, this book integrates the evolution of human society with the development of weapons and strategy into a single, coherent story.

    $122.54
    More details
  • The Ghosts of Cannae
    The Ghosts of Cannae (English, CD-Audio) Robert L. O'Connell

    For fans of Victor Davis Hanson, Donald Kagan, and Barry Strauss comes a rich, sweeping account of the most imitated?and vicious?battle in history.

    $39.10
    More details
  • The Ghosts of Cannae
    The Ghosts of Cannae (English, Microfilm) Senior Analyst Robert L O'Connell

    A dramatic account of the violent ancient battle traces the massive defeat of the huge but inexperienced Roman army by Hannibal's forces, interpreting the larger course of the Second Punic War and the often-disastrous ways in which the battle has been imitated throughout history.

    Currently Unavailable More details
  • The Ghosts of Cannae
    The Ghosts of Cannae (English, CD-Audio) Robert L. O'Connell

    For fans of Victor Davis Hanson, Donald Kagan, and Barry Strauss comes a rich, sweeping account of the most imitated?and vicious?battle in history.

    Currently Unavailable More details
  • The Ghosts of Cannae
    The Ghosts of Cannae (English, CD-Audio) Robert L. O'Connell

    For fans of Victor Davis Hanson, Donald Kagan, and Barry Strauss comes a rich, sweeping account of the most imitated?and vicious?battle in history.

    Currently Unavailable More details
  • Fierce Patriot
    Fierce Patriot (English, Hardback) Senior Analyst Robert L O'Connell

    NATIONAL BESTSELLER...

    Currently Unavailable More details