Books on True Stories

2,279 items
Sort & refine results
  • The Soldier Who Came Back by Steve Foster
    The Soldier Who Came Back (English, Paperback) Steve Foster, Alan Clark

    In Northern Poland in 1940, at the Nazi war camp Stalag XX-A, two men struck up an unlikely friendship that was to lead to one of the most daring and remarkable wartime escape stories ever told.

    $10.16 $15.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • There is No Map in Hell by Steve Birkinshaw
    There is No Map in Hell (Paperback) Steve Birkinshaw

    In 2014, Steve Birkinshaw attempted to set a new record for completing a continuous 300-mile circuit of all 214 Wainwright fells in the Lake District. With a foreword by Joss Naylor, There is no Map in Hell recounts Birkinshaw's preparation, training and experience, and the physiological aftermath of the feat.

    $15.96
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Library of Ice by Nancy Campbell
    The Library of Ice (English, Hardback) Nancy Campbell

    A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

    $13.50 $19.15
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Not a Proper Child by Nicky Nicholls
    Not a Proper Child (English, Paperback) Nicky Nicholls, Elizabeth Sheppard

    This dark and exceptional true story begins with Nicky's encounter with Moors Murderer, Myra Hindley, in Risley remand centre in 1965. This brief meeting resonates through a life ravaged by homelessness, systematic abuse and alcoholism, but leads to hope and worldwide recognition through art.

    $8.34 $10.21
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • A Boy Without Hope by Casey Watson
    A Boy Without Hope (English, Paperback) Casey Watson

    A BOY WITHOUT HOPE is the heart-breaking story of a boy who didn't know the meaning of love. A history of abuse and neglect has left Miller destined for life's scrap heap. But in this turbulent story of conflict and struggle, Casey Watson is determined to help Miller overcome his demons, show him love and give him hope.

    $7.99
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Hope in a Ballet Shoe by Michaela DePrince
    Hope in a Ballet Shoe (English, Paperback) Michaela DePrince, Elaine DePrince

    Hope in a Ballet Shoe tells the story of Michaela DePrince. Sent to an orphanage, Michaela was mistreated and saw the brutal murder of her favourite teacher. Then Michaela and her best friend are adopted by an American couple, and Michaela begins to take dance lessons.

    $8.39 $10.21
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
    Into the Wild (English, Paperback) Jon Krakauer

    What would possess a gifted young man recently graduated from college to literally walk away from his life?

    $10.70 $14.22
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Felix the Railway Cat by Kate Moore
    Felix the Railway Cat (English, Paperback) Kate Moore

    **THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER** Give them a heartwarming gift this Christmas . . . ...

    $8.67 $14.95
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Trauma Cleaner by Sarah Krasnostein
    The Trauma Cleaner (English, Paperback) Sarah Krasnostein $13.10 $16.59
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Rugby's Strangest Matches by John Griffiths
    Rugby's Strangest Matches (English, Paperback) John Griffiths

    A curious collection of true stories from the stranger side of rugby, featuring the the Irish international who arranged his marriage so he could play against England, the team of football players who beat their rugby counterparts at their own game, and the day the entire Wales team was sent off.

    $10.64
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Last Grain Race by Eric Newby
    The Last Grain Race (English, Paperback) Eric Newby

    An engaging and informative first-hand account of the last `grain race' of maritime history, from respected travel writer Eric Newby.

    $12.39 $18.25
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Squad Average by Mark Inman
    Squad Average (English, Paperback) Mark Inman

    Squad Average is the true story following the incredible life of a young soldier, from his early teenage years until today.

    $12.08 $12.76
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Part-Time Working Mummy by Rachaele Hambleton
    Part-Time Working Mummy (English, Hardback) Rachaele Hambleton

    Blogging star Part-Time Working Mummy reveals her life in all its brilliantly chaotic glory - the screw-ups, surprises and downright hilarious moments in a mad patchwork family.

    $17.72 $19.15
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • The Girl with Seven Names by Hyeonseo Lee
    The Girl with Seven Names (English, Paperback) Hyeonseo Lee, David John

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An extraordinary insight into life under one of the world's most ruthless and secretive dictatorships - and the story of one woman's terrifying struggle to avoid capture/repatriation and guide her family to freedom.

    $14.39 $15.99
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Beautiful Boy by David Sheff
    Beautiful Boy (English, Paperback) David Sheff

    A teenager's addiction from the parent's point of view - a real-time chronicle of the shocking descent into substance abuse and the gradual emergence into hope.

    $11.31
    More details
  • Golf's Strangest Rounds by Andrew Ward
    Golf's Strangest Rounds (English, Paperback) Andrew Ward

    A quirky collection of true stories from the stranger side of golf, including irrational finishes, record rounds and famous freak shots.

    $10.21
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • House of Snow by Sir Ranulph Fiennes
    House of Snow (English, Paperback) Sir Ranulph Fiennes

    A collection of stories, poems and articles about Nepal covering the length and breadth of this enchanting nation and its people.

    $16.33 $19.15
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
    Into Thin Air (English, Paperback) Jon Krakauer

    Jon Krakauer's acclaimed account of a disastrous expedition on Mt Everest.

    $12.17
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • Papillon by Henri Charriere
    Papillon (English, Paperback) Henri Charriere

    An immediate sensation upon its publication in 1969, Papillon is a vivid memoir of brutal penal colonies, daring prison breaks and heroic adventure on shark-infested seas.

    $10.87 $14.22
    More details
    Ready To Go
  • How Not to Travel the World by Lauren Juliff
    How Not to Travel the World (English, Paperback) Lauren Juliff

    When Lauren left to go travelling, she thought she would instantly become a glamorous backpacker. But after being mugged, scammed, caught up in a tsunami and experiencing a very unhappy ending during a massage, she realised that learning how NOT to travel the world was the most enlightening experience she could have hoped for.

    $12.13
    More details
    Ready To Go